top of page
Search
  • shahabmirusa

5 Reasons I Love Java and So Do the Other Developers

Updated: Dec 28, 2020

I have been into the Information Technology (IT) industry for almost 16 years now. And my professional journey reflects a great deal of variation, from being an IT customer support (when I just began this journey) to a Java developer and a Founder. But the moment I discovered my love and passion for the Java platform, my career changed entirely. I strongly believe that it’s because of my passion for this platform that has put me on the success ladder. And I know, many of you working as a Java developer would relate to my story.

By the way, I am Shahab Mir and you can know more about me on my website

So, what is so special about Java? Why it is the most preferred or loved development platform today?

Here are the reasons that make Java popular among developers and programmers.

1. Open Source

The fact that Java is an open-source platform makes it so much popular. It means that anybody can download the Java compiler (JVM) source code. Most third-party libraries are available under GPL licenses (General Public License). Moreover, it is also free. Firstly, Java is an open-source language, it is the first choice when it comes to open-source software development. And secondly, since it is free, anybody can learn it without spending much. Plus, start-ups, beginners, and small companies can use it for their small to big strategic projects.


2. User-Friendly

Wondering? Well, that’s true! The reason why my passion for Java grew tremendously is that it is a very intuitive language. Java syntax is so easy to read, write, and understand that even a beginner can comprehend a Java program without any help. Java syntax is in fluent English so you can get through it easily. While installing the JDK and setting up the Classpath variables could seem difficult for a naïve, in the beginning, but the rest is just a cakewalk. I really enjoyed learning Java. Also, since I had a basic understanding of C and C++, mastering Java became, even more, easier for me.


3. API- Rich

It isn’t anything new – Java’s API (Application Programming Interface) is rich and extensive. It consists of hundreds of methods that you can use directly in any program. The best part is, you don’t need to have hands-on experience in all of them; just a basic understanding of them will do to learn to program in Java easily. For every purpose, be it making a database connection, or dealing with input-output, the Java API contains a method. Besides, you can also use Java’s open-source libraries such as Apache POI, and Google Guava.


4. Provides a Package of Development Tools

Did you know that Java’s Integrated Development Environment (IDE) is all-inclusive? This is another reason that makes Java a popular platform among developers and programmers. Java’s IDE comprises many automation tools, debugger, and editor. So, a programmer doesn’t need to wander on the net to find compilers and tools that developers usually require for development. You get everything all in one place.


5. Extensively Used by Industry Giants

Another beautiful aspect of Java is that its Runtime Environment (JRE) is perfectly compatible with any existing devices including Unix/Linux, Macintosh, Windows, Mainframe systems, and mobile phones. And because Java is platform-independent, it is widely used by many industry giants. I can say this with my personal experience, too. I’ve worked with top brands in the US, and confidently say that Java is the most preferred platform in major companies. Because of Java’s Write Once Run Anywhere (WORA) feature, it is being used in most industries.


The Takeaway

If you’ve got an app idea or want to develop a software or a game, and are confused about which platform to develop your idea, I’d strongly recommend the Java platform. With all the above benefits you get when you choose Java and many others, you are sure to fall in love with this platform like me and thousands of other developers.


And if you need assistance or an experienced Java Developer by your side, feel free to get in touch with me, i.e., Shahab Mir at smir30@aol.com. I will be happy to help!


26 views0 comments
bottom of page